Domestic cats are 95% tiger

Posted in: Faits divers
Tags: , ,

Practically the same DNA

Researchers have succeeded in decoding the genome sequence of tigers, snow leopards and lions. They discovered that the DNA of tigers and domestic cats had a 95.6% similarity. The evolutionary line split into two species around 10.8 million years ago.

Where the difference can be found

The sequencing of the feline genome allowed the discovery of genes explaining why the big cats are so large and muscled, the gene explaining why they are carnivores, and the two genes that allow snow leopards to adapt to life in high mountainous regions with low levels of oxygen in the air.

Why such a study?

The mapping of genomes from individuals of different populations, also aims at helping to select individuals for repopulation of endangered feline species, so avoiding animals that are blood related, or too closely linked.

The study was published in the 17th September 2013 issue of Nature Communications.

Sources:

 

There are no comments published yet.

Leave a Reply

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options

Copyright © 2017 en.catpapattes.com. All Rights Reserved. 

%d bloggers like this:

95% du tigre dans le chat domestique

Publié dans: Faits divers
Tags: , ,

Le Tigre et le Chat domestique: L’ADN quasi identique

Les chercheurs ont réussi à décoder les séquences du génome des tigres, des léopards des neiges et des lions. Ils ont découvert que les ADN des tigres et des chats domestiques se ressemblent à 95.6%. La séparation de la ligne d’évolution de ces deux espèces a eu lieu il y a environ 10,8 millions d’années.

Là, où se trouve la différence

Le séquençage du génome des félins a permis de découvrir les gènes expliquant pourquoi les grands félins sont si gros et musclés, le gène expliquant pourquoi ils sont carnivores et deux gènes permettant aux panthères des neiges s’adapter à la vie en haute montagne et dans des conditions de faibles niveaux d’oxygène dans l’air.

Pourquoi une telle étude?

La cartographie des génomes des individus de différentes populations est également destinée à aider à la bonne sélection des individus afin de reconstituer les populations d’espèces menacées de félins, en évitant les animaux de consanguinité et trop étroitement liés.

L’étude a été publiée dans le numéro de Nature Communications Septembre 17.

Chouchou a faim

Sources:

Il n'y pas encore de commentaires.

Laissez un commentaire

Captcha * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Vous avez un compte chez catpapattes?
Connectez vous ici.

Copyright © 2017 catpapattes.com. Tous droits réservés.