Choosing a good vet

Posted in: Problèmes de santé, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Finding and choosing a good vet is very important

vet_clinic

A good vet should first of all exercise his profession with a passion, and what goes without saying, a love for animals. He should be attentive, and listen to the cat owner, as it is they who will transmit all of the symptoms, all the clinical signs of the cat. There should be co-operation. The vet should take time to examine the cat, so as not to miss something which could be key to healing him. Good contact and goodwill are essential! Examining the cat should be done in a very serious manner.

What a good vet should do during a clinical exam

- take the temperature

- look in the mouth (the gums, the teeth, the tongue, the tonsils)

- look inside the ears to detect an ear infection, or scabies

- look to see if the mucus membranes in the mouth are pink, in order to detect anaemia

- look into the corner of the eyes to detect dehydration or anaemia

- look at the folds of the skin to detect dehydration

- palpate the stomach

- listen to the heart

From my own experience I know that unfortunately, there are too many vets who give up too soon. There are very complicated diseases for which it is difficult to find the causes, but putting a cat to sleep without finding out what he’s suffering from, is in my opinion not acceptable. This especially concerns cats who are FIV+ and FeLV+. These cats fall ill in the same way as others, but you must remember that their being ill is not necessary linked to being positive to the virus. To say “the virus has been diagnosed, there’s nothing left to do” before doing complete analyses, is completely unacceptable! When we take care of a positive cat (high quality food, and food supplements to increase his immunitary defence) he can live for a long time in good condition.

It’s essential to take charge of the situation. Prescribing corticotherapy and antibiotics without knowing the cause of the disease is a serious mistake. It’s better not to do something, or even not to do anything, rather than risking doing more harm than good,  ”Primum non nocere”  : ”First, do no harm” Hippocrates.

Here is a fine quote from Hippocrates which explains what it is to be a good doctor (or vet):

“To be a good doctor, find the cause and treat it; to be a better doctor, find the cause of the cause and treat it; but to be a real doctor, find the cause of the cause of the cause and treat it.” Hippocrates.

There are no comments published yet.

Leave a Reply

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options

Copyright © 2017 en.catpapattes.com. All Rights Reserved. 

%d bloggers like this:

Choisir un bon vétérinaire

Publié dans: Problèmes de santé, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Choisir et trouver un bon vétérinaire est une clé de base

Un bon vétérinaire doit tout d’abord exercer son métier avec une passion et avec, ce qui va de soi, un grand amour pour les animaux. Il doit être à l’écoute attentive du propriétaire du chat parce que c’est celui-ci qui lui transmet tous les symptômes, tous les signes cliniques du chat. Il faut qu’il y ait une bonne coopération. Il faut qu’il prenne le temps pour bien examiner le chat pour ne pas passer à côté de quelque chose qui peut être primordial pour le soigner. Le bon contact et la bienveillance sont essentiels! L’examen du chat doit être fait d’une façon très sérieuse. 

Ce qu’un bon vétérinaire devrait faire lors d’un examen clinique 

– prendre la température

– regarder dans la bouche (les gencives, les dents, la langue, les amygdales)

– regarder dans les oreilles pour déceler une otite, la gale

– regarder si les muqueuses dans la bouche sont bien roses pour déceler une anémie

– regarder dans les creux des yeux pour déceler une déshydratation ou une anémie

– regarder le pli de la peau pour déceler une déshydratation

– palper le ventre

– écouter le cœur

 

De mon expérience je sais que malheureusement il y a trop de vétérinaires qui baissent trop vite les bras. Il y a des maladies très compliquées pour lesquelles il est très difficile de trouver de causes, mais endormir un chat avant de savoir de quoi il souffre n’est pas acceptable pour moi. Cela concerne surtout des chats positifs au FIV et au FELV. Ces chats tombent malades comme les autres mais il ne faut pas oublier qu’une maladie n’est pas forcement liée à leur positivité au virus. Dire : « le virus s’est déclaré, il n’y a plus rien à faire » avant de faire des analyses complètes est pour moi inacceptable! Quand on prend soin d’un chat positif (nourriture de haute qualité, suppléments alimentaires pour augmenter les défenses immunitaires) il peut vivre longtemps et en bonne forme.

La prise en charge sérieuse est essentielle. Prescrire la corticothérapie et les antibiotiques sans savoir la cause de maladie est une grande faute! Il vaut mieux de ne pas faire quelque chose ou même de ne rien faire que de risquer de faire plus de mal que de bien, « Primum non nocere » : «d’abord, ne pas nuire » Hippocrate.

Voici une belle citation d’Hippocrate qui explique ce qu’un bon médecin (vétérinaire) :

« Pour être un bon médecin, cherche la cause et traite-la ; pour être un meilleur médecin, cherche la cause de la cause et traite-la; mais pour être un authentique médecin, cherche la cause de la cause de la cause et traite-la. » Hippocrate. 

Vous avez un compte chez catpapattes?
Connectez vous ici.

Copyright © 2017 catpapattes.com. Tous droits réservés.